HKCC Champions

Mayor Dave Canfield – City of Kenora

Dave entered the field of politics during the 1991 municipal election and served as Councillor until re-elected, as Mayor in the fall of 1994. He served as Mayor for the Town of Jaffray Melick until December 31, 1999, when Kenora, Keewatin and Jaffray Melick amalgamated to become the City of Kenora on January 1, 2000. Dave was elected as the first Mayor for the City of Kenora for a one year term for 2000 and was re-elected in the fall of 2000 as Mayor for a three year term 2001-2003 and again in the fall of 2003 for a three year term 2004-2006. He was re-elected Mayor, October 27th, 2010 until present.

David was elected as President of the Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association (NOMA) in 1998/99. He was re-elected as president of NOMA April 2013. Dave has served on dozens of federal and provincial committees over his political career.

Mayor Canfield, along with Grand Chief Leon Jourdain, were the innovators of the Common Land Common Ground working group, a joint committee of First Nation Chiefs and Northwest Ontario Mayors working together on issues of common interest.